Africa’s trusted extractives intelligence network

Extractives DailyExtractive Insight
PR
In Production / ExpansionCopper

Kamoa–Kakula Copper Complex

Lualaba Province, approximately 25 km southwest of Kolwezi, Democratic Republic of the Congo

Project profile

About Kamoa–Kakula Copper Complex

Kamoa–Kakula is a large, high-grade underground copper mining and processing complex on the western edge of the Central African Copperbelt. Operated by Kamoa Copper S.A., the complex combines multiple underground mines, three concentrators and a 500,000-tonne-per-annum direct-to-blister smelter. Commercial copper production began in 2021 and phased expansion continues.

Principal public source: Official project disclosure ↗

Eight-Domain Bankability Framework

Capital-readiness,
with evidence.

Each disclosed fact carries its own effective date and source. “Not disclosed” means the current directory evidence does not establish the point.

01

Tenure & Licensing

Legal right to develop and the identity of the holder of record.

Licence or permit ID
Not disclosed in current sources
Holder of record
Kamoa Copper S.A.As at 31 Mar 2026Ivanhoe Mines — Kamoa-Kakula Copper Complex
Licence or permit expiry
Not disclosed in current sources
02

Resource & Reserve

Reported resource and reserve statements, code and effective date.

Mineral resource
Not disclosed in current sources
Ore reserve
466 million tonnes at 2.82% copper; 13.1 million tonnes contained copperAs at 31 Mar 2026Kamoa-Kakula Technical Report
Reporting code
NI 43-101As at 31 Mar 2026Kamoa-Kakula Technical Report
04

Capital & Funding

Capital requirement, currency and committed funding position.

Capital expenditure
Not disclosed in current sources
Funding status
Not disclosed in current sources
05

Offtake & Market

Sales, offtake and route-to-market commitments.

Offtake status
Not disclosed in current sources
Disclosed counterparties
Not disclosed in current sources
07

Community & Resettlement

Community commitments, land access and resettlement status.

Community status
Not disclosed in current sources
Resettlement status
Not disclosed in current sources
08

Evidence & Recency

Recency, completeness and traceability of the bankability record.

Evidence and update note
Not disclosed in current sources
Profile last updated
21 August 2026Review and correction standard ↗

Connected directory

Organisations linked to this project

Known project companies, regulators, suppliers and service providers.

IV
Project Company

Ivanhoe Mines Ltd.

39.6% Indirect

39.6% indirect interest through the Kamoa Holding joint venture

ZI
Project Company

Zijin Mining Group Co., Ltd.

39.6% Indirect

39.6% indirect interest through the Kamoa Holding joint venture

MI
Regulatory Body

Ministry of Mines — Democratic Republic of the Congo

20% Government-held

National mining policy and regulatory oversight; the DRC government holds a 20% project interest

ME
Service Provider

Metso Corporation

Copper smelter technology, equipment, automation and digital solutions

DR
Service Provider

DRA Global

Engineering, procurement and construction management for the Kakula concentrator development